Suzy’s Books

Get Wall of Wishes Wherever Books are Sold! Available NOW.

In Calgary, Buy from Owl’s Nest Books

Or get eBook from your favorite Bookseller here

Wall of Wishes Cover Final

Wall of Wishes

Hidden deep in the woods is a secret fountain that has granted St. Augustus students’ wishes for nearly a century, including the wish responsible for Ava’s very existence. When she learns that the woods will soon be destroyed to make way for a new road, Ava must do whatever it takes to save the fountain, or risk her own life being erased.

New girl Courtney knows more about the school’s magic than she’s letting on and has something to gain from the fountain’s destruction. Joining forces with Courtney seems the only way to stop the road, but Ava and Courtney share a thorny past. Trusting her is impossible, but if she doesn’t, Ava could disappear forever.



Also in The Fountain Series

Book 1 – The Fountain

Careful what you wish for. It just might come true.

Ava Marshall, driven by a desire to learn more about her mother’s past, moved across the country to attend St. Augustus. But her mom’s secrets will have to wait, because she finds herself instantly hated for her family’s connection to her new school and is forced to fight alone against a classmate who is setting Ava up to be expelled.

Fleeing campus, she takes a shortcut to her Gran’s house through the forbidden West Woods and discovers a mysterious fountain that has the power to grant a wish and change it all. But can she live with the consequences? Or will she end up breaking every school rule and risking the love of her life to make it right…  

The Fountain was a Prix Aurora Awards Finalist for Best Young Adult Novel in 2016.


Sample Chapter


The Fountain

     “I’m terrified of expulsion,” Ava hissed at Ethan, “but this isn’t negotiable. Go back if you’re scared. I never asked you to come.”

Ava turned her back, blinking to clear his cowed expression from her sight. She pushed deeper into the dark of the West Woods, walking as quickly as she dared, pushing branches aside that blocked the path as she went. The fountain waited out there, and it was getting late. The sooner she undid her wish, the sooner everything could go back to the way it was supposed to be. She could tell by the sound of footsteps that Ethan followed, though he seemed to be keeping his distance.

Gritting her teeth, she wished she’d brought her phone. The thin beam from Ethan’s flashlight, shining from behind, wasn’t strong enough to show the roots that lay ahead in her path. Turning toward him, she waited. Despite his teasing, she was really glad he was here.

She looked at him smiling awkwardly at her through the gloom as he approached. Her own thin smile felt forced. They’d be missed by now. The New England wind found the holes in the weave of her sweater, sending a chill up her back.

I wish to undo the wish I made here on September 14th that made Courtney disappear.

   I wish to undo the wish I made here on September 14th that made Courtney disappear.

Ava fiddled with the coin in her sweater pocket, shivering against the cold. The fountain had already granted her one wish. She needed it to work again.

She watched as Ethan sidestepped the roots at his feet. His ball cap hid the coal-black shock of hair she’d grown used to. His dark eyes met hers from beneath the veil of his cap.

Did he want to believe her story as much as she wanted him to?

Averting her eyes to watch her feet, she continued along the path. Ethan walked easily beside her. Ava heard her own breath rise and fall. Ethan’s hand nearly brushed hers as they walked, the narrow path pushing them together. Ava flexed her fingers, toward the heat of his hand. One slight move and she could clasp the security that he offered. Could it really be that simple?

“We’re almost there,” Ava announced, her voice breaking a little.

She cleared her throat and took a small step sideways, away from him on the path.

She noticed him withdraw, stuffing the hand she’d almost grabbed into his jeans pocket.

Ava felt a sinking feeling. She couldn’t leave St. Augustus yet. There was so much she needed to explore.

She’d managed to lead Ethan right into the clearing. The beam from his flashlight shone before them in a wide arc.

Ava dropped the coin she’d been fiddling with, her hand hanging slack at her side. The coin sank into the long grass at her feet without making a sound. The clearing blurred in front of her. She felt Ethan move quickly, his warm arm suddenly pressed against her waist, keeping her from collapsing onto the ground.

Ava reeled. This was definitely the clearing where she’d made her wish.

So, where was the fountain?

Read the rest of The Fountain and see reviews at…

Support Local – Owl’s Nest Books

Book 2 – The West Woods

Courtney Wallis wants nothing more than to escape St. Augustus boarding school. After uncovering a well-kept secret about the school’s founder, Isaac Young, Courtney turns to the school’s magic to convince her dad to let her leave. Things take a turn when she meets Cole, who lives in the nearby town of Evergreen. He gives her hope that things might not be so bad. However, the fountain has other ideas, and binds Courtney to her ambition, no matter the cost.

As Courtney struggles to keep the magic from taking over, she and her friends get drawn into the mystery woven into the school’s fabric. Everything seems to lead back to the forbidden West Woods. Together, she and her friends seek out the spirits of the past to ask for help, and find themselves in much deeper than they’d bargained for. If they succeed, Courtney could be free of the magic. If they fail, she may never be the same.


Buy Now

Support Local – Owl’s Nest Books